When creating a new discussion under the Collaboration feature, users who are not listed as Participants are showing up in the participant list

Document ID : KB000007675
Last Modified Date : 29/08/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Issue:

When creating a new discussion under the Collaboration feature, users who are not listed as Participants are being given access to the thread.

Cause:

STEPS TO REPRODUCE:

1. Login as Resource dummy
2. Create a Project ABC and add Resource1 and Resource2 to the participants list
3. Navigate to Collaboration tab - Discussion
4. Click New
    Topic Name: Test
     Access: Check the box Selected Resources/Groups and select Resource 1 alone
5. Submit and Return to the List page
6. Click on the icon View Participants

Expected Result: There will only be 2 participants - Resource Tom and Resource1
Actual Result: There are many resources in the Topic participant list who are not even part of the project.

If a topic instance-id is same as MESSAGE or CATEGORIES instance-id then those object participants are getting displayed along with topic participants.

Resolution:

Create the topic and manually remove the unauthorized participants who got added and then start creating the messages.
Participants can be removed by clicking on the Modify Topic icon. The unwanted participants can be removed from there as well as adding new ones

Additional Information:

This issue was logged as a potential defect (DE35202) but due to the complexity of the fix, the issue will not be fixed and will be left as a design limitation.