When an attempt is made to update a User Definition in UAMS, only the User Details and Notification Details screens are available for update. Why is this occurring?

Document ID : KB000031312
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Problem: When attempting to update a user definition in UAMS, the only two screens available for update are the User Details and Notification Details screens. When the same user ID definition is displayed in browse mode, all 14 screens can be seen.

 Solution: This problem is due to a Group ID being assigned at the bottom of the User Details screen. If this is the case, then all UAMS parameters other than those found on the User Details and Notification Details screens are inherited from the Group ID, and this is why only those two screens are available for update. There are two possible solutions: 

1. If the desired change is appropriate for all users currently assigned to the Group, then the Group ID itself can be updated as necessary.

2. If the change is only required for one or more specific users outside the Group ID settings, then the Group ID should be removed from the User Details screen for each user in question and then press F3 to store the change. Afterwards, all 14 UAMS definition screens should be available in update mode to accept any necessary changes.