What is the difference between Editing and Viewing mode?

Document ID : KB000047745
Last Modified Date : 17/05/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:

Summary

What is the difference between Editing and Viewing mode on the Editable Detail Pages? 

Issue

On the Edit Detail page, there are now options to set the mode to either Editing or Viewing:

mode


you are editing

What is the difference between the two modes? 

Resolution

The Viewing mode is displayed on the on the Editable Detail Pages (EDP or full screen view) in the upper right corner.

For users who are uncomfortable with the "always editable" nature of the pages, they may set their default mode to "Viewing." When they wish to make modifications, they simply switch to "Editing" mode. 
mode

Another way to explain this that the biggest difference in which this would be wanted or used is that some users may not want to have the Editable Detail Page (EDP) in an editable state when they view an artifact, so using the Viewing mode would facilitate this need. This can also be a setting that persists, going forward, in the event a user wants to only edit certain artifacts as to not impact any other work being done on other artifacts they may have visibility to.

To change the preference going forward:
  1. Click the Edit Profile dropdown next to the avatar figure on the upper right side of any page.
  2. Click My Settings
  3. Click Edit Profile
  4. Scroll down to the "Default Detail Page Mode" setting
  5. Click the check box to de-select either Viewing Mode
    User-added image
 
  1. Click Save & Close

 
Instructions:
Please Update This Required Field