We would like to delete some older versions and packages, but leave newer versions in the project.

Document ID : KB000010316
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:
We would like to delete some older versions and packages, but leave newer versions in the project. But when we try to delete we get following message:
---------- Begin <Delete Version> Process ---------------
I00060052: Delete Versions Owner Only execution was successful.
E0302001e: Cannot delete version <#> of <file name>; a later version exists.
E03060019: Process Execute failed. Process Name: Delete Version - Owner Only.
---------- End <Delete Version> Process ---------------
 
The reason we would like to delete these older versions is that there are few packages sitting in the dev state from last year. Project team wants to do cleanup. Most probably someone was working and left the company, other developer did not realize and moved on to this change to production and might be there are already several versions in the production. So basically I would like to know how to cleanup this issue.
Instructions:

While Harvest does not allow you to delete older versions while leaving newer versions in place, what you can do is demote those versions to a state that does not have a view assigned, and this will make them invisible to the other states.

In your project create a state named “TrashBin” and in the “View” field select “No View”.  Leave the “All snapshot” checkbox unchecked.
 
Next, make sure that all your states have a “Demote” process that demotes back to the previous state.  In your initial state, create a Demote process to demote to the TrashBin state.  For all your demote processes make sure the “Enforce Package Bind” and “Verify Package Dependency” checkboxes are unchecked.
 
With these settings in place, you can now demote any packages back through all the states and then demote it into the Trash Bin state.  Those packages and versions will no longer be visible from the other views.

Additional Information:

If you later decide you want to make those packages and versions visible again, simply promote them from the TrashBin state to your initial state.

As always, please contact CA Technologies support for CA Harvest Software Change Manager if you have further questions.