How can an administrator edit shared views where where the changes are only applied to the current login session or the current users account?
For the user in question use the "Edit Shared Views" role right. This "Lets users edit the views on a shared page. Other users can see these views, but cannot see the changes. The changes can only be applied to the current login session or saved to the current user account." Make sure "Save Changes to Shared Views" and "Administer Shared Dashboards" are not applied to the role
By doing this changes can only be saved to the current login session or the current user's account