Urgency changes when the "Reset" button is clicked

Document ID : KB000091964
Last Modified Date : 20/04/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:
Pressing the "Reset" button on the Edit Incident screen will reset the Urgency.

The Incident Area remains unchanged.

This advice applies to both Requests and Incidents.
 
Question:
How is the Urgency determined when "Reset" is used?
Answer:

Clicking the "Reset" button will cause all values to revert back to their prior state.

The exception is the Incident Area, which is noted in the documentation. This will remain at the same value.

If you have the Priority Calculation Matrix configured, then the Urgency will reset back to the Default Value, if specified on the Matrix:

  • Administration tab
  • Service Desk
  • Request/Incident/Problems
  • Priority Calculation and relevant matrix
  • Urgency Default

NOTES

  • The behaviour of when the Urgency field is updated may depend on the field navigation methods used - it may either be immediate, on a field tab, or when "Save" is used.
  • Customisations on the Incident form have been known to impact the operation of this behaviour. Try running without customisations on a test system if in doubt.


 

Additional Information:
From the Online Help for the "Edit Incident" screen:
"Clicking Reset on the Create New Incident page does not restore the Incident Area field to the previous value."