Turkish tomezone staying with DST on October 30th

Document ID : KB000047033
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Introduction: 

On the 7th Sept 2016 the Turkish government abolished the DST timezone change due to occur on the 30th Oct.  Without modification this change won't be reflected in the currently shipped Portal and Gateway appliances. 

Environment:  

Redhat Enterprise Linux 6

Instructions: 

Current DST setup can be reviewed using the following command at a root prompt:-

#zdump -v /usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey | grep 2016 /usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Sun Mar 27 00:59:59 2016 UTC = Sun Mar 27 02:59:59 2016 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Sun Mar 27 01:00:00 2016 UTC = Sun Mar 27 04:00:00 2016 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Sun Oct 30 00:59:59 2016 UTC = Sun Oct 30 03:59:59 2016 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Sun Oct 30 01:00:00 2016 UTC = Sun Oct 30 03:00:00 2016 EEST isdst=0 gmtoff=7200 

This  output indicates that RHEL will adjust for DST on the 30th Oct, which is incorrect. Looking at the RHEL doc:- 

The update information is in tzdata-2016g, this was released on 29th Sept so would not of made it into APIM Gatewaty/Portal monthly update package in September. This will be incorporated into the next patch due to be released by the end of October, however if required sooner you can download 'tzdata-2016g-2.el6.noarch.rpm' from this KB, copy it to the appliance and apply via the command (root) 

rpm -Uvh tzdata-2016g-2.el6.noarch.rpm 

If you run the zdump command earlier you can confirm the change, ie:- 

#zdump -v /usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey | grep 2016 

zdump: warning: zone "/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey" abbreviation "+04" lacks alphabetic at start 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Sun Mar 27 00:59:59 2016 UTC = Sun Mar 27 02:59:59 2016 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Sun Mar 27 01:00:00 2016 UTC = Sun Mar 27 04:00:00 2016 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Tue Sep 6 20:59:59 2016 UTC = Tue Sep 6 23:59:59 2016 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800 

/usr/share/zoneinfo/Turkey Tue Sep 6 21:00:00 2016 UTC = Wed Sep 7 00:00:00 2016 +03 isdst=0 gmtoff=10800 

Additional Information:

https://access.redhat.com/solutions/2642991

 

File Attachments:
TEC1853463.zip