When defining a remote DBNAME in a RESOURCE TABLE you must name the remote NODE where that DBNAME is defined.
If you then DELETE the NODE without also deleting the RESOURCE TABLE entry that references it, you will receive DC301073 error at GENERATE.
To remove a RESOURCE TABLE reference to a NODE that has been deleted, use this syntax:
MODIFY SYSTEM <number>.
MOD RESOURCE TABLE
EXCL DBNAME <DBNAME containing the node reference>.
(repeat this for all RESOURCE TABLE entries containing a reference to the NODE for the system that’s been deleted)
After taking the above steps, the next time the CV is cycled, the new definitions will be in place. YOu can use these DCMT commands to verify that the nodes no longer exist in your active system:
DCMT D NODE
DCMT D RES TAB
However, if there were any transactions that used those Nodes in the previous cycle of CV, there would probably be info in the journals about those distributed transactions. That journal info would be referenced as part of the CV warmstart, and could cause one or more occurrences of this error message to appear in the log when IDMS starts up:
DC329018 V100 T35 Resynchronization terminated for <Node-name>::DSI_CLI *connect failed
If this message is displayed as part of your startup, you can issue a DCMT D DIST RM to see any active distributed transaction managers from the prior CV cycle related to the Nodes that were dropped.
To resolve any DC329018 messages, you can issue DCMT V DIST RM 'rm-name' DELETE for each of the deleted nodes. That will prevent these messages on any future startups of the CV.
The CA IDMS SYSTEM TASKS AND OPERATOR COMMANDS manual describes this process:
“Deleting Resource Managers
When a resource manager is deleted, all record of that resource manager is eliminated from the system. The DCMT VARY RESOURCE MANAGER DELETE command should only be used when the resource manager no longer exists. For example, when a DC/UCF system is removed from the network. By deleting the resource manager, no further attempt is made to resynchronize with that resource manager at startup.
Note: Only resource managers whose name ends in "DSI_CLI" or "DSI_SRV"can be deleted.”