The User Role that Was Set Prior to Logging out Continues to Appear When the User Logs In Again

Document ID : KB000050492
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Description:

The user role that was set prior to logging out continues to appear when the user logs in again.

This document explains why and how to change this.

Solution:

This the out-of-the-box behavior. It can be changed. The alternative is for the role to always be set to the default role for the user's access type when the user logs in.

After logging in, a user may be able to change their current role. Whenever a user does this and subsequently logs out, the "web_role_id" column for the corresponding contact entry in the "usp_preferences" table is updated with the current role.

When the same user logs in again, the role is set to the saved "web_role_id" rather than to the default role for the Access type.

To turn off this feature, perform the following steps:

  1. From the Service Desk tab, click on View and then Preferences.

  2. In the general settings, check the option "Use Default Role".

  3. Click on Save.

When the feature is turned off, Service Desk Manager uses the default role assigned to a Contact or a Contact's Access Type as the initial role when the Contact logs in.

Figure 1. Service Desk Preferences on Service Desk Manager r12.5 CA SDM

Figure 1