Seeing duplicate Dot Net Agent names in the Investigator.

Document ID : KB000012961
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:

 Why am I seeing duplicate Agent names in the investigator appended with %1,%2,%3 etc. ?

 

Environment:
All supported APM versions on Windows
Answer:

Explanation:

When the Agent restarts it has a new process id.

  • In Windows, if the Agent about to restart still has a running transaction, then the process will continue analyzing the transaction and afterwards, the process terminates. However, this does not stop the Windows from creating a new process because of the restart. As a result, two processes associated with the same application. In the Investigator, this would be represented as Agent and Agent%1.

  • On the EM side, Once the original Agent has been terminated completely, then Agent%1 will take the Agent node and Agent%1 node will become inactive.

  • On the Agent side, both the agents with the old process Id and the one with the new process Id will have the same name. However, because the EM already has this name established, the new process Id will have its name appended with "%1". The Agent, recognizes its name without the "%1" and sends this to the EM to place in the Investigator tree. Thus, the Agent naming feature is active and the Agent name has been properly retrieved. But users want to stop the EM from creating the Agent with the "%1" appended.

  • The problem with setting the property "introscope.agent.agentAutoNamingMaximumConnectionDelayInSeconds ", is that it delays the connection until is receives it name. Using the information provided above, we see that the Agent gets its name properly and relatively quickly. Once the Agent gets its name, it connects to the EM and the EM applies the "%1".

Note:

  • If you try setting this property "introscope.agent.agentAutoRenamingIntervalInMinutes=10 ", this will not work because the Agent name will not change.
Additional Information:

 You have to delay the new process from being created until the old process has completely stopped. This is something that has to be configured on Windows.