How to keep the same terminal-id after a connection was lost for a user?

Document ID : KB000074867
Last Modified Date : 27/03/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:
There are two possible solutions for this, you can specify it on the application side (use Application parameter 'Keep virtual terminal:' = 'Y') or on the User Side (use User-field 'KeepACB' = 'Y').
Instructions:
There are two possible solutions for this, you can specify it on the application side (use Application parameter 'Keep virtual terminal:' = 'Y') or on the User Side (use User-field 'KeepACB' = 'Y').

In more detail you need to do this for the desired Application:
1. Go to internal session TPXADMIN, select "2 - TPX System Options", then "2 - Application Definition". 
2. Select the ACT currently in use (indicated by text "STARTUP" at the ent of the line) 
3. Select the application in question. 
4. Now you are in panel TEN0093. Here you need to change parameter 'Keep virtual terminal:' to 'Y'. 
After reloading that ACT in TPXOPER using command RELOAD ACT=<name_of_your_act> or restarting TPX the virtual terminal is kept by TPX when the session to that application ends. When the user logs on again that vierual terminal is used again for that user. 


If you want to restrict this feature to specific user(s) you need to follow these steps: 
1. Go to internal session TPXADMIN, select "1 - TPX User/Group Maintenance", then "3 - User Maintenance". 
2. Enter the name of the desired userid, hit enter and then select "2 - TPX Session Options". 
3. Select the desired application and enter 'Y' in field "KeepACB". Then, after the user logos off/on, the virtual terminal is reserved for the application session until TPX is stopped.