Project keeps on a locked status after closing it in Gantt

Document ID : KB000071351
Last Modified Date : 20/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:
One user finds his project locked every time he closes the Gantt and gets back to PPM.
Other users can open the project in Gantt and do not find the project locked when they get back to the project in PPM.
What can cause the project to remain locked for a specific user even after closing the Gantt?
Answer:
When you do a tentative change in Gantt, the PRJ_GANTT_EDITS table is populated.
After saving or discarding the changes, the table record gets cleared out.
On rare occasions, the record might remain corrupted on the table.

Please run the following select statement:
select * from PRJ_GANTT_EDITS where project_id = XXXXX (This is the internal project ID you see in the PPM URL when opening a project)

This shows pending edits in Gantt for the affected project and also who is the user who did the tentative edit.
Analyze the results.
If the user who keeps having the project locked has got an old tentative record, this might be causing the lock.
In order to eliminate the unexpected project locks please delete, the table entry from the PRJ_GANTT_EDITS table