Is it possible to have multiple CA OPS/MVS OPSLOG WebView GUI sessions open at the same time?

Document ID : KB000027741
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Question:

Is it possible to have multiple CA OPS/MVS OPSLOG WebView GUI sessions open at the same time?

Answer:

Yes, you can use multiple sessions to group related messages into a consolidated view. You could also use different profiles to display VTAM messages in one session, tape mount messages in another, and user abends in still another session. There is an overall limit of 50 open sessions per OPSLOG WebView server, which applies to the total number of sessions opened by all users who are logged on to the server.

To open a new session from a web browser simply use the startup URL setup for your OPSLOG WebView server in the address box. If the startup web page is still displayed, click the OPSLOG WebView launch screen. Each session you open will require you to log on using your TSO userid and password. OPSLOG WebView checks those credentials as if you were logging on TSO, but does not increment the logged-on counter for the TSO userid. This feature is the on that enables you to log on via multiple web browser sessions to the CA OPS/MVS OPSLOG WebView component.

Additional Information:

As mentioned above an OPSLOG WebView profile is a collection of OPSLOG WebView settings, such as columns to display, text colors, and message ID's to include, and many other settings. Each user is responsible for creating his own profiles. Every session that is open has access to the same list of profiles, because profiles are stored by the server address space in a file that has a name derived from the userid of the logged user. If two sessions belonging to the same userid perform a change in the profiles, the earlier changes will be lost. OPSLOG WebView allows only the first instance of a userid, which is called the prime session, to make permanent changes to profiles. Other instances of the userid can edit or create profiles that last for the duration of their session, but they cannot save any changes. A pop-up message appears if you try to save a profile when saving is not permitted. Sessions that are not permitted to change a profile also do not see changes to profiles that are made by the prime session, because each session gets a private copy of the profiles when they log on. If the prime session logs off, no other session is automatically promoted to be the prime. The next new session to log on will be then considered the prime session.