Is it possible to delete CA PPM Resources or Users?

Document ID : KB000021241
Last Modified Date : 16/08/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:
There are times when CA PPM administrators are requested to remove resources/users from the system. Is it possible to delete Resources or Users?
Answer:
Deleting Resources or Users not possible through the application user interface by design to keep data integrity intact. Direct database action is not supported as this is high-risk, and could render the underlying data-set as unusable. Deletion of certain data, could potentially be in violation of Sarbanes-Oxley, federal audits, or other corporate review boards.

In scenarios where a Resource/User is requested to be removed, the current Best Practice method is the following:
1) Deactivate and lock the resource and user respectively in the application on both the Administration and Home properties page
2) Change the resource name (or resource ID if not financially enabled). Once a resource has become financially enabled the resource ID field becomes locked and cannot be changed. Reference KB000024124: Is it possible to change a Resource ID?
3) Clearly mark the deactivated Resource names with "DO NOT USE" or your own variant, as part of the update 
4) Remove security access rights associated with the user profile to release the licensing count reported on the License Information Portlets.

How to deactivate a CA PPM Resource Profile. When a resource or role is no longer needed, you can deactivate it. Other users cannot assign deactivated resources or roles to tasks. The inactive resource or role continues to appear in the resource list unless you filter it out.
Follow these steps:
1) Open Home, and from Resource Management, click Resources.
2) Open the resource or role.
3) Clear the Active check box, and click Save.

Open Administration, and from Organization and Access, click Resources. Click on a CA PPM Resource
Status: Defines the status for the resource.
- Active: (Default) Activates and enables the resource for assignment projects.
- Inactive: Deactivates and prevents the resource from being assigned to projects unless the filter is set to display inactive resources.
​- Lock: Prevents the resource from logging in to CA PPM.