I have deleted the devices from a group, but they keep coming back. Why is this so ?

Document ID : KB000103807
Last Modified Date : 05/07/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:
We have a Device group "My_Group" which contains several devices. We are trying to delete the devices from the group by editing the group and moving them in the GUI to the "Available Devices" under the "Devices" section of the group

User-added image

And we are getting a confirmation message. However next time we open the group, the devices are back to the original location. How come ?
Environment:
CA PAM 3.X
Answer:
Each device has as one of its attributes the groups it belongs to. This can be seen in the Groups tab for each device. For instance:

User-added image

This issue may happen if removal of a device in the gui has failed to clear the group name in the groups attribute of each device deleted. If this has failed, the devices will keep showing up over and over again until this is not done.