How to prevent a TPX user from executing TPX commands in TPX-Main menu.

Document ID : KB000050560
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Description:

The TPX main menu contains a command line. This document explains how to prevent a normal TPX user from executing any TPX commands here.

Solution:

To prevent a user from executing TPX commands from the TPX main menu do the following:

  1. In TPXADMIN, select '1 - TPX User/Group Maintenance', then '5 - Command Authorization Class (CMDT)'.

  2. Here select the group the users are in with line command 's'. By default, all users are member of the group TPXGROUP. You can leave this as it is or you can decide to put users into different groups like SALES, ADMIN, and FINANCE.

  3. Now you are presented with a list of characters representing different 'Command Authorization Classes'. Select one with line command 's' and you see the list of all possible TPX-commands. For every command there is a 'Y' or 'N' in front allowing or denying execution of this command. Now you select a class which denies all unwanted commands. Make sure that commands 'F' and 'K' are still allowed; otherwise the user cannot logoff anymore! If you want to create a new class, then enter 'S <character>' to create a new Class in the 'TPX Command Authorization Class Table Entry List' and then change the Authorizations as desired.

  4. Now you need to assign the desired Class to the User (or Profile). For that, go back to the TPXADMIN Min menu and select '1 - TPX User/Group Maintenance'.

  5. Now select the profile or user you want to assign the selected Class to.

  6. For Profiles:

    Select '2 - Profile Maintenance', then select the Profile you want to change. Now select '1 - TPX User Options' and enter the Group Name (or leave the default TPXGROUP) and the desired character from step 3. into field 'Command Class'. In column 'Current System defaults' you find the currently assigned values. Finally reload the profile in TPXOPER using command

    RELOAD PROF=<name_of_profile>

    For Users:

    Select '3 - User Maintenance', then enter the name of the user and hit ENTER. Then select '1 - TPX User Options' and enter the Group Name (or leave the default TPXGROUP) and the desired character from step 3. into field 'Command Class'. In column 'Current System defaults' you find the currently assigned values. If that user already has Profiles defined you might find entries in column 'Profile defaults' as well. In that case these entries are valid for the user. Finally let the user log on again to TPX.