How to have fixed initial role for web interface?

Document ID : KB000013105
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:

Out of box, after an user logs out from web interface or simply close the web browser, the next time the user logs into web interface, the user

will have the role before the user logged out last time. This could add some inconvenience for multiple role users as the users would need to reset

the role the user prefers. This tech doc explains what to do to make sure the users will log into web interface the same fixed initial role, no matter what

was the role the user last time logged out.

Question:

How to have fixed initial login role for web interface?

Environment:
Service Desk Manager 14.1, 12.9, CMDB 12.* , Windows, Unix/Linux, SQL server or oracle server
Answer:

Follow these steps:

1. If this is for an individual contact, log into web interface as Administrator, then Administration->Security and role management->contacts and search

   and the contact, the click to open this contact detail, then click 4. Groups, Roles, Service Contracts->2.Roles, if the designed role is present, click on

   radio button of the role and then click "set default role button"; if the designed role is not present, click "update roles" button to add this role and then

   click radio button of the role and then click "set default role button"

2. If this is for certain access type, log into web interface as Administrator, then Administration->Access Type and search the access type and click on

    the access type to bring up its detail page. From the role detail page, click the tab 3.Roles, if the designed role is present, click on

   radio button of the role and then click "set default role button"; if the designed role is not present, click "update roles" button to add this role and then

   click radio button of the role and then click "set default role button"

3.For any user who wants to always log into web interface with the initial role, log into web interface then Service Desk->View->Preferences and then 

   check "use default role" checkbox and then click on "save"button to save the change. From now on, this user will always have this initial role when log

   into web interface, no matter what was the role when the user logged out last time.

Additional Information: