How to Completely Remove a Robot from USM Inventory?

Document ID : KB000010910
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:

It must be noted that Infrastructure Manager (IM) and USM have different methods for querying a robot. IM handles the hub to robot communication (e.g. hubs pinging robots to verify if they are active). USM handles the discovery correlation that it gathers directly from the database. For this reason, the robots need to be removed from both IM and USM as the delete from inventory in USM does not have visibility into the IM client. 

If the robot is only removed from USM Inventory, then the hub will still think that the robot exists in the IM client.  The reason for this is the robot will show in a down state in IM because it has not yet been removed.  When the hub does the ping requests to this robot, it will send a robot inactive alert.  After removing the robot from IM as well, this will correct the issue.

Instructions:

The following is the correct procedure for removing a robot in UIM 8.51:

 

1. Stop the Nimbus Robot Watcher service for the robot that needs to be removed OR uninstall the robot from the system directly. 

2. Remove the robot from IM. This can be performed one of two ways: 

 

* Remove the robot from IM in the hub robots tab. 

Remove robot.png

--OR-- 

* If there are many robots that need to be removed, the robot.sds file can be renamed from the hub folder structure in nimsoft/hub, for the hub that the robots report to. The hub will then need to be restarted to have the robot.sds file recreated. 

 

3. Remove the robot from the Inventory section of USM to delete the alarms, QoS, and all correlation related sections in the database for the robot.  Follow the below steps to perform this:

a) Check the boxes next to the robot(s) that need to be removed.

Robot checked.png

b)  From the Actions tab, select Delete Selected

Delete selected.png

c)  Lastly, select the appropriate sections to remove the robot QoS and alarms from the database

Delete device.png

 

 

**Note:  It is recommended to uncheck the Prevent Rediscovery check box in USM; otherwise, the robot will be blacklisted and cannot be rediscovered by the discovery_server probe.