How to change the @DEFAULT model which has a Share Option of 'Y'?

Document ID : KB000026258
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

 

Question:

At install time, the @DEFAULT model was created with a Share Option (S/O) of "Y". How can changes be made to this model?

Answer:

The creator of the model is the only person who can make changes to the model when the Share Option is set to "Y". It is recommended that you keep an unchanged version of the @DEFAULT model for every release with Share Option of "Y" so it cannot be modified.

Additional copies of the original @DEFAULT model can be made and changed by other users by creating a Template of the @DEFAULT model.

  1. Select Option 6 - Utility Model Services after issuing the PROFILE command from within RC/Migrator.

  2. On the CMD line, Select T (template).

  3. Supply a new Model ID for your templated model along with the Description and the SHARE OPTION.
    Valid Share Options are:

    Y - Yes. Other users can use but not update the set or model.
    U - (Default). Update. Other users can use and update the set or model.
    N - No. Others cannot reference or update the set or model.

  4. Once the new model is created, the user can make changes to the model by entering a "U" on the CMD line.