How to allow or disallow users from locking a terminal in CA TPX?

Document ID : KB000023647
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Question:

How to allow or disallow users from locking a terminal in CA TPX?

Answer:

You can use the TPX Command Authorization Class to disallow users from using the Lock command. This step-by-step procedure will show you how to enable or disable it.

  1. Logon on to TPXADMIN.
  2. Select TPX User/Group Maintenance, option 1.
  3. Check one of the user's User Options to identify their Group name and command class for use in step 4:
    • Select User Maintenance, option 3.
    • Enter userid and press Enter key.
    • Select User Options, option 1, and note the Group name and left-most value for  command class:TEC510722-1.JPG
    • PF3 to return to User/Group Maintenance panel.
  4. Select TPX Command Authorization Class  (CMDT), option 5.
    • Select the TPX Command Authorization Class Table assigned to the users. (TPXGROUP)
    • Select the Command Authorization Class the users are assigned. (D) 
    • Disallow the Lock Terminal command by entering a "N" in the field.  Use "Y" to allow.TEC510722-2.JPG
    • Press PF3 until saved.
  5. Use TPXOPER to reload the table: RELOAD CMDT=TPXGROUP
  6. Users will need to logoff TPX then back on for the change to take effect for their sessions.

Note: This change will apply to every user using the same Command Authorization Class. If you want to just assign it to one user, then you can create a new class for only that user.