How does Service Desk handle multiple updates in the same session to the same ticket?

Document ID : KB000017461
Last Modified Date : 31/05/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:

Sometimes users are unable save updates to tickets because the same ticket already has pending updates. This technical document explains how Service Desk handles that situation.

 

Instructions:

"Pending updates" occur when an end user performs multiple updates on the same ticket. For example, when you are editing a ticket, you can also Log a Comment, or perform other activities prior to saving the ticket.

Pending updates are allowed only for the same user in the same session.

If you open a new browser window and login as the same user, and try to update the same ticket, you will get a lock warning, as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1

The situation where there are pending updates occurs when you open an activity window (eg. the Log comment activity), you will see the Accept button instead of the Save button on the activity screen, as shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2

Whenever you see the 'Accept' button, it means there is already a pending update on this ticket, ie. You already have a lock on the ticket. If you have administrative privileges in Service Desk, you can see the lock on the ticket in the Administration tab -> System -> Current Locks, shown as Figure 3.

Figure 3

The rule is that, if the initial pending update is cancelled, or terminated abnormally, all of the pending updates will be abandoned, even if the message " Save Successful - Activity Log created" is displayed after the Accept button is clicked. The update is, in fact, not saved at that point , as it is still pending the initial update.

The examples of initial updates:

  1. Create a new ticket, (it will be in edit mode immediately)
  2. Edit a ticket
  3. Open an Activities window, such as Update Status, Escalate, etc.
  4. Other activities to update a ticket

If you then open another Activities window, you will see the Accept button.

Please note that, if the end users open multiple update windows on the same ticket, they must save the initial update window to save all the updates.

NOTE: There is one scenario that there will be no initial update window, as follows:

Where the performance of the system is slow, and the user tries to update a ticket (for example, open an Activities window) and then closes the window before the window details are displayed and the hour-glass is still spinning. At this point no updates on this ticket can be saved and the user will always see the Accept button on the Activities screen. This may leave the ticket in a locked state and unable to be edited by other users.

Under this scenario, the solution is to login as an Administrator, navigate to Administration tab -> System -> Current Locks (Figure 3), find the locked ticket, right click on it, and select 'Delete Lock' to release the lock. A user without admin rights should be able to release the lock by logging out of Service Desk and logging back in.

Additional Information:
The information in this article has been included in our product documentation. You can find further details here:
https://docops.ca.com/casm171/using/ticket-management/how-does-service-desk-handle-multiple-updates-in-the-same-session-to-the-same-ticket