How do I determine which Terminal Customization settings will be used?

Document ID : KB000012706
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:

How do I determine which Terminal Customization settings will be used?

Answer:

There are 3 places where Terminal Customization options can be set. 

Setting LocationDevices EffectedUsers EffectedPriority
Global SettingsAllAllLowest
Device SettingsIndividualAllMiddle
User SettingsAll (when accessed by this user)IndividualHighest

These settings don't stack or combine in any way. There is instead a priority evaluation which defines which setting will be used. Referring to the chart above, if defined the higher priority settings will be used over the lower priority. For example, if all 3 are defined then the User Settings will be used or if both Global & Device settings are defined for a device, the device settings will be used.

When modifying Terminal Customization options the 'Restart Session' button should always be clicked before opening the SSH connection. Otherwise cached options may be used, causing users to think the options weren't changed or that there is a bug. This is expected behavior.

If the old settings remain even after clicking 'Restart Session' then it is recommended to: log out, clear browser & Java (or PAM Client) caches, then log back in.

Additional Information:

These settings only effect the built-in SSH applet, not SSH type TCP/UDPServices like PuTTY or SecureCRT.