How can the "Save As" Search feature be disabled?

Document ID : KB000012598
Last Modified Date : 12/03/2019
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:

The new feature Search Saved As in a scoreboard was introduced in SDM 14.1.02 (cum2). The search filter is saved as a Stored Query. This document explains this feature and how to disable it if needed.

Question:

On a user's Role the Function Access Level for "Stored Query" can be set to "View" or "None" to restrict a user from being able to create most stored queries, however altering this setting doesn't seem to alter the user's ability to use the "Save As" feature. Is there a way to disable "Save As" in regards to custom queries?

Environment:
This applies to any version of Service Desk Manager from version 14.1.02 onwards, including the 17.x releases.
Answer:

Although the saved searches are stored under the scoreboard and in Stored Query table, the “Save As” buttons are not controlled under by the Function Access Level setting. This feature is actually controlled by an option in the NX.env file. Even if Function Access is modified, users will still be permitted to add on the scoreboard, even when their Function Access is set to View or None for the Stored Query function. As this behavior is controlled by options, it is a global setting - it cannot be turned on/off only for certain roles through Function Access.

To Disable this feature (Save Search Filters), log in to the SDM web UI as an administrator on Primary server (in a Conventional environment) or Background server (in an Advanced Availability (AA) environment). Execute the following command to disable the search “Save As” options:

pdm_options_mgr -c -s DISABLE_SAVED_SEARCHES -v 1 -a pdm_option.inst

pdm_options_mgr -c -s DISABLE_SAVED_SEARCHES -v 1 -a pdm_option.inst -t

The first command sets the option in NX.env; the second command sets it in the template file so that changes will persist across restarts. Recycle the CA Service Desk Manager Server service for the changes to take effect.

If you later wish to re-enable the “Save As” functionality, you can run a variation of the commands above – rather than setting the value to 1 (enabling the DISABLE option), we can set it to 0 to restore normal functionality (to disable the DISABLE option).

pdm_options_mgr -c -s DISABLE_SAVED_SEARCHES -v 0 -a pdm_option.inst

pdm_options_mgr -c -s DISABLE_SAVED_SEARCHES -v 0 -a pdm_option.inst -t

As above, you will need to recycle the CA Service Desk Manager Server service for these changes to take effect.
 

Additional Information:

For more information, please refer to the SDM 14.1 documentation page "Save Search Filters".