How can I change the time that a CA Service Desk Manager (CA SDM) user has an exclusive lock on a CA SDM record
When a user edits a CA SDM record using the CA SDM web interface, the user is given an exclusive lock on the record for the default time of two minutes.
If the user can edit and submit changes within an allotted time, the changes are written to the MDB database.
During the time that the record is locked, other CA SDM users (both web and non-web) can view the record, but cannot edit it. If another user tries to edit the record while it is locked, they will receive an error message.
If the user cannot edit and submit changes within the allotted time, the record lock automatically drops and other CA SDM users can edit the record.
When the CA SDM user submits the updates, time stamps are checked to ensure that nobody else has changed the record and the following occurs:
– If the record has not been changed since the exclusive lock was dropped, the user’s updates are saved to the MDB database
– If another user has edited the record after the lock expired, the user receives an error response from the attempt to save, and the changes are not saved. The user must restart the edit process and re-enter the changes.
You can change the default time by using the ExclLockSeconds property in the WEB.CFG file:
1. Navigate to the NX_ROOT\bopcfg\www directory on the CA SDM server
2. Edit the web.cfg file with a text editor.
3. Look for "ExclLockSeconds"
4. Change the line:
! ExclLockSeconds 300
This will change the exclusive lock time to 5 minutes (600 seconds).
5. Save the changes and recycle the CA SDM service for the change to take effect.
Be advised that if there CA SDM Secondary servers in the environment, you will need to make the same change to the <Server Name>-web1.cfg files.
In addition, please make the same changes to the NX_ROOT\bopcfg\www\WEB.CFG.TPL file to avoid losing changes during 'pdm_configure'.