How can a user undo changes they have made to get back to using profile level parameter values?

Document ID : KB000067797
Last Modified Date : 14/03/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:
After a while users start to mess with applications under their user ids using TPXADMIN and then want to go back to original profile values.
Question:

How can a user undo changes they have made to get back to using profile level parameter values without needing to contacting the TPX admin?

 

Answer:

Within TPXADMIN self-maintenance (or via user maintenance), user options and session options are displayed with three columns of values for each parameter: 

  • Right column is system level values (from ACT for session options or SMRT for user options). 
  • Middle column is profile level values. 
  • Left column is user level values, that the user has changed. 

Profile level overrides system level; user level overrides profile and system levels. So the left most value that exists will be in effect. 

 

A user can reset to profile values by erasing (usually Ctrl-E) their changes in left column. (Important:  Erase, not type blanks because that is a value.) 

Then PF3 out of TPXADMIN to save.  Signoff then signon to TPX to pick up changes. 

Additional Information:
This is documented in the TPX User Guide section Performing User Self-Maintenance.