How can a user log on multiple times to TPX

Document ID : KB000100291
Last Modified Date : 06/06/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Introduction:
How can a user log on multiple times to a TPX Region?
Instructions:
The parameter which allows multiple logons to TPX is named 'Transfer option'. You find it when you select session TPXADMIN, then "1 - TPX User/Group Maintenance", then "3 - User Maintenance" and enter the desired user. Finally select "1 - TPX User Options" and hit PF8. The value in parameter 'Transfer Option' which allows multiple logons to TPX is "MULT". Placing the cursor into the field 'Transfer option' and hit PF1 shows you the possible values: 

Transfer option - Specifies what happens when the user transfers sessions from one physical terminal to another without signing off TPX. If you don't specify one of the values below, and the terminal type is incompatible, TPX prompts the user for an action: 
  • ANY If the terminal type is incompatible, TPX performs the transfer and terminates any sessions that cannot be transferred. 
  • HOLD If the terminal type is incompatible, TPX performs the transfer keeping the incompatible sessions active but inaccessible until the user transfers to a compatible terminal or restarts the sessions. 
  • MULT TPX will not allow the user to transfer sessions and inactivates the user's sessions on sign off. Use this option if allowing multiple users to logon under one user ID. 
  • NONE No terminal transfers are allowed. 
After having changed the value for the user and hit PF3 until you left TPXADMIN that user need to logoff/logon to make the change become effective.