Deleting Workflows registered in Job Groups does not work as expected

Document ID : KB000084920
Last Modified Date : 14/04/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Issue:
Error Message :
N/A

A Workflow in a state of "Registered" is not canceled correctly.

 "Delete Entry" for registered Workflows (WF) don't cancel the complete WF. Instead, the children remain in a ‘Waiting for Predecessor’ status.  When the job group is executed, the associated scripts are all executed and deactivated, but the WF stays in the activity window and must be forced canceled to be removed.  When viewing the WF from the Monitor, it looks as if only the START and END objects have been canceled.

Investigation

A job group and a workflow are created. The workflow has with at least one task in it and at least one other object (SCRI in the example)

Start the workflow and the scripts. They go to status Registered:

 
0EMb0000001Unq3.png

One of the scripts is deleted:

0EMb0000001Unq8.png

It is canceled and gone from the Activity Window:

0EMb0000001UnqD.png

Now the workflow is deleted:

0EMb0000001UnqI.png

The workflow stays in the list and the children remain in Waiting for predecessor:

0EMb0000001UnqS.png

When you execute the job group, the scripts are all executed and deactivated, the workflow stays in the activity window:

0EMb0000001UnqX.png
 

It has to be forced canceled to be removed from the Activities Window.

If you open the Monitor of the workflow, it looks as if only START- and END-object where canceled:

0EMb0000001Unqh.png

Environment:
OS Version: N/A
Cause:
Cause type:
Defect
Root Cause: "Delete Entry" for registered workflows do not cancel the complete workflow. Deactivate not possible and sub-tasks stay in status of "Waiting for Predecessor".
Resolution:
Update to a fix version listed below or a newer version if available.

Fix Status: Released

Fix Version(s):
Automation Engine 12.1.0 - Available
Automation Engine 12.0.2 - Available
Automation Engine 11.2.5 - Available
Additional Information:
Workaround :
First, delete the registered workflow and then a deactivate is forced.