Delete of snapshot or deployment hangs or is locked by a userid.

Document ID : KB000032758
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Problem:
Deployment "deployment-name" is locked by "userid" to delete. The lock is released when the task is finished. Close this notification message, and select another deployment. 
 

Environment:
CA Mainframe Software Manager

 

Cause:
A prompt to confirm the delete of the deployment under the progress tab is being ignored and a second delete request was started which is then locked by the userid that started the first delete request.

 

Resolution/Workaround:
Basically you have two attempts to delete the deployment and the first one is still running and the second attempt fails with message Deployment "deployment-name" is locked by "userid".

The first one that is running is the one that is waiting for a response to a prompt on the progress tab. You could check under the tasks tab then current tasks and you should still see it running. If you do then click the name of the task and you should see the General/Progress tab. Click the progress tab and click OK to respond to this prompt.

If you can't find it under current tasks, you could just recycle MSMTC, when it is back up try the delete but this time be sure to click progress and check for the prompt.

 

Additional Information:

Administration Guide