Deactivation of Sub-Workflows is no longer possible

Document ID : KB000088538
Last Modified Date : 14/04/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Issue:

Symptoms

As of Version 10 of the Automation Engine already finished Sub-Workflows cannot be deactivated. The option 'Deactivate' is only available for Top-Level-Workflows.

Cause

This is behavior by design as of version 10. The change had to be done due to technical requirements of the rollback functionality.

Issues

When tasks end with an ENDED_NOT_OK or similar status and need to be restartet. The failed instances of those tasks will remain in the Activity Window and cannot be removed. Operators will loose the overview of what has already been fixed and which tasks still need their attention.
 

Resolution:

You can take advantage of the rollback functionality to keep the Activity Window clean. Find a step-by-step example below:

1. Here you see a screenshot of two activity windows showing two perspectives of the same situation: the upper windows shows failed tasks only; the lower one shows the whole structure

.png

2. In the next step you open the monitor of the parent of one of the failed tasks and choose 'rollback to this task' on the failed task

.png

3. After the successfull rollback choose 'rerun' from within the 'Modify Workflow' conect menu on workflow level

4. As you can see on the next screenshot, the failed instance (RunID: 1110343) vanished from the upper activity window. The final status of this task (ENDED_ROLLBACK_EMPTY) is shown in the lower activity window

.png

In case you have rollback enabled on the particular task the status after a successful rollback will be ENDED_ROLLBACKED. If the rollback fails the task will get the status  FAULT_CUSTOM_ROLLBACK.