Clarity Agile: How can I prevent Clarity Agile project team members from taking up Agile licenses in Salesforce when running the Product Synch Job?

Document ID : KB000047992
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details

Description:

When running the product synch job in Clarity, the job automatically adds the resource to Salesforce with a license if the resource is not already in Salesforce.com. The job would fail with an error regarding license limit exceeded when if the number of new resources the job is attempting to add to Agile exceeds your organization's license limit .

In a scenario that you need to have certain Clarity resources staffed and assigned on a Clarity Agile project, while these resources are not going to log in to Salesforce.com to use Agile, you would want to avoid having these project team members take up your Agile licenses in Salesforce.com .

Solution:

If the user is not yet in Salesforce, prior to running the Product Synch job in Clarity, add the user in Salesforce with a Chatter External User License Type which is the default when adding a new user directly in Salesforce. This license type does not take up any Agile licenses.

Notes:

  • If the user is already in Salesforce with a Salesforce/Salesforce License type and you cannot change it, you can deactivate the account in Salesforce.

  • The email address entered in Salesforce should match the resource profile email address in Clarity.

Once the user profiles are adjusted the product synch job should complete without the error and projects should synch successfully.