CA Process Automation The Difference Between Reinstall and Configure Existing

Document ID : KB000118017
Last Modified Date : 23/10/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:
When reinstalling CA Process Automation, I am presented with "Reinstall" or "Configure Existing Installation"

OR

Support has asked me to reconfigure by running the install media, but I only see the option to reinstall

What is the difference?
Answer:
When you are asked to run a reinstall or reconfigure of CA Process Automation, the resulting question in the installer dialog can be confusing, or frustrating, because it is not what you expected when you were asked to either reinstall or reconfigure the implementation. 

Here is the difference between the two options, and why sometimes you only see the option to reinstall.

When you have an install of CA Process Automation that you have just installed from the media (ISO images) and no patches (hotfix or cumulative or even a test fix jar provided by the engineering team) and you are asked to reinstall to resolve an issue, once you get to the second disk you are presented with "Reinstall" or "Configure Existing Installation". 

Neither option will change the any of the configuration files unless you specifically make a change on any of the install dialog fields. And neither option will modify any processes. The data you have in Process Automation (processes, datasets, configurations for connectors, etc) is all maintained in the database. 
A reinstall will lay down all of the library files again - very specifically meaning code files like jars, and has nothing to do with the Process Automation Library of processes. 

When you are asked to run a reconfigure, but your only option is "Reinstall", that means that you have applied a patch; hotfix, cumulative or test jar; to the base media image. Here, you can move forward selecting "Reinstall", but you need to make sure that you have the hotfix, cumulative and/or test jar to reapply once you verify the reinstall has completed successfully. Verification means starting the service and logging into Process Automation before moving forward with the next installs. 

You may very specifically be asked to reinstall, and if you are provided the two options and you select "Configure Existing Installation", this may not resolve the issue that a reinstall would resolve. 
A reconfigure, or "Configure Existing Installation", is usually selected when you need to make a change for instance to the database user, or maybe you need to change from a single node to a cluster. A reset of the code files is not necessary for this, but if you don't have a patch applied either option will achieve the same results.