An explaination of various browser HTML error codes

Document ID : KB000025713
Last Modified Date : 14/02/2018
Show Technical Document Details


Often http error messages are display in the browser without an explanation.

Also the logs just show the error numbers.

Having a error message detailed description and a manual with background information available will speed up the error solution process.

The list below give you a start up point


Http 1.1 error codes are defined in the request for comment (RFC) 2612.

Short error code description:

Status Code Definitions

1xx Informational
100 Continue
101 Switching Protocols

2xx Successful
200 OK
201 Created
202 Accepted
203 Non-Authoritative Information
204 No Content
205 Reset Content
206 Partial Content

3xx Redirection
300 Multiple Choices
301 Moved Permanently
302 Found
303 See Other
304 Not Modified
305 Use Proxy
306 (Unused)
307 Temporary Redirect

4xx Client Error
400 Bad Request
401 Unauthorized
402 Payment Required
403 Forbidden
404 Not Found
405 Method Not Allowed
406 Not Acceptable
407 Proxy Authentication Required
408 Request Timeout
409 Conflict
410 Gone
411 Length Required
412 Precondition Failed
413 Request Entity Too Large
414 Request-URI Too Long
415 Unsupported Media Type
416 Requested Range Not Satisfiable
417 Expectation Failed

5xx Server Error
500 Internal Server Error
501 Not Implemented
502 Bad Gateway
503 Service Unavailable
504 Gateway Timeout
505 HTTP Version Not Supported


Additional Information: 

You can find the complete list with details at: