Agile Central - Editing and Viewing: Selecting "No" in the dialog pop question is still changing my editing mode. Why?

Document ID : KB000110142
Last Modified Date : 09/08/2018
Show Technical Document Details
Question:
When changing my mode from Editing to Viewing, a dialog pops up asking to confirm. I select "No", but yet my mode is changed.

Why? Is that a bug?

See the 4 screen shots below:
- I am in Editing mode.
- Changing to Viewing mode.
- Dialog is popping up asking to confirm.  I click: "No".
- Then, despite my selection, my mode is changing to "Viewing".


User-added image

User-added image

User-added image

User-added image

 
Answer:
No. This is not a bug.

In this sequence you already made your selection to change from Editing to Viewing mode, and this is why you are entering Viewing mode.

The dialog is asking if you would like to apply this to your default detailed page mode. The "default detailed page mode" is going to impact how this screen behaves after this change takes effect. If you opt to click "Yes, change to Viewing" this will only take effect after you logout and log back in again. This is where you profile settings will be reloaded. At that point, if you enter this page then the default entering mode will be 'Viewing'.

When you clicked "No" to this dialog, you basically said that next times (after logout and re-login) your default mode shall stay on 'Editing' which means that this page will load up in Editing mode.

But, again, this selection is NOT overriding or replacing what you just changed for your immediate experience with this page. It only applies to the default mode which takes effect after your settings will be reloaded.

Here is this setting that's mentioned. Click "My Settings" -> the see the argument: "Default Detail Page to Viewing Mode".
If checked this means that you will enter detail pages in Viewing mode.
If unchecked this means you will enter detail pages in Editing mode.

Your answer to that dialog is going to impact this param and will take effect after logout and re-login.

User-added image

User-added image


To conclude:
This dialog is irrelevant to the immediate change you just made asking to enter the page you work on in Viewing mode.